Artist of the Month
  • local channel
  • local charts
  • show listings
  • studios
  • submit
  • submit

deli cover



November 2013
Wooden Shjips
"Back to Land

Hailing from San Francisco, psychedelic group Wooden Shjips, has just released their newest album Back to Land. The album brings together a sound crafted from inspirations that range from psychedelic music to classic rock.

The album is an entire trip in itself.  One can hear hints of 80s music, classic rock, and modern garage rock styles in the record, but they always resolve back to their classic psychedelic sound. With tracks like “In The Roses,” which brings a very spacey, low volume vocals, and a lo-fi sound that is not too cheesy or under produced. to “Ghouls,” which is a much faster, much more psychedelic rock sounding song that takes influences from classic rock guitar chords, while still utilizing classic psychedelic synthesizers.

Most songs on the album carry a jam-band sound, without becoming too abstract or getting too carried away. And in some cases, the music is so vast in genre diversity, one is surprised at the resulting sound, such as in the track, “These Shadows”, which starts off with an extremely catchy intro guitar riff and carries a vague David Bowie meets Velvet Underground sound.

“Back to Land” is a great piece of work that utilizes the potential of each member of Wooden Shjips effectively and thoroughly.

Most importantly, “Back to Land” is an experimentation of how far the psychedelic genre can stretch while still successfully staying true to its roots.

This is a preview of the new Deli charts - we are working on finalizing them by the end of 2013.

Go to the old Top 300 charts


scene blog


The Deli's SXSW Issue 2014 is online!

Read it digitally here.

P.S. 10k free copies of this issue hit the street of Austin during SXSW Music week!


Sneezy is a Fusion Rock/Jam Band based in Libertyville. They released their self-title debut studio album earlier this month.

You can catch Sneezy at HVAC in Wrigleyville on July 2nd at 8pm.


theMIND goes to Summer Camp

theMIND (aka Zarif Wilder) has released his debut LP, Summer Camp. You can download the project for free at his website. theMIND is a member of the THEMpeople collective and this release features contributions from Donnie Trumpet, Knox Fortune, Noname, Towkio, Sylvie Grace, and many more. Below is the projects fantastic title track.


Thelonious Martin

Adult Swim released a new track today as part of their 2016 Singles project by SaveMoney Collective producer Thelonious Martin. The single is called "Bomaye" and features lyrics by Joey Purp.



Belmont has signed to the local label Mutant League Records. The label is releasing their new EP, Between You & Me, this week. Below is the EP's first single "Shackles".



What's your favorite Emerging Bay Area Artist on this List?

- news for musician and music pros -