Artist of the Month
  • local channel
  • local charts
  • show listings
  • studios
  • submit
  • submit

deli cover
November 2013
Wooden Shjips
"Back to Land

Hailing from San Francisco, psychedelic group Wooden Shjips, has just released their newest album Back to Land. The album brings together a sound crafted from inspirations that range from psychedelic music to classic rock.

The album is an entire trip in itself.  One can hear hints of 80s music, classic rock, and modern garage rock styles in the record, but they always resolve back to their classic psychedelic sound. With tracks like “In The Roses,” which brings a very spacey, low volume vocals, and a lo-fi sound that is not too cheesy or under produced. to “Ghouls,” which is a much faster, much more psychedelic rock sounding song that takes influences from classic rock guitar chords, while still utilizing classic psychedelic synthesizers.

Most songs on the album carry a jam-band sound, without becoming too abstract or getting too carried away. And in some cases, the music is so vast in genre diversity, one is surprised at the resulting sound, such as in the track, “These Shadows”, which starts off with an extremely catchy intro guitar riff and carries a vague David Bowie meets Velvet Underground sound.

“Back to Land” is a great piece of work that utilizes the potential of each member of Wooden Shjips effectively and thoroughly.

Most importantly, “Back to Land” is an experimentation of how far the psychedelic genre can stretch while still successfully staying true to its roots.

This is a preview of the new Deli charts - we are working on finalizing them by the end of 2013.

Go to the old Top 300 charts


scene blog


National Site

New Track: “Bathroom Laughter” - Pissed Jeans & New Album Coming in Feb.

Pissed Jeans just announced that they plan to release a new album titled Honeys via Sub Pop in February. You can take a listen to their first offering from the record called “Bathroom Laughter” below.

New Track: “Hangin'” - Free Energy

Power-popsters Free Energy premiered a new song this morning called “Hangin'” via Rolling Stone. The single is off their forthcoming sophomore LP Love Signs, which is scheduled for release January 15. You can also check out its full tracklist below. (Photo by Dominic Neitz)
Love Sign Tracklist:
1. "Electric Fever"
2. "Girls Want Rock"
3. "Dance All Night"
4. "Hey Tonight"
5. "Hold You Close"
6. "Backscratcher"
7. "Hangin'"
8. "Street Survivor"
9. "True Love"
10. "Time Rolls On"

NYC Band on the rise: Sunglasses releases "Wildlife" at Glasslands on 11.20 (tonight)

Blending the complex harmonies of The Beach Boys with the gritty aesthetics of the new millennium's bedroom pop, Sunglasses add a new chapter to the Brooklyn DIY scene - which they recently embraced after moving from Savannah, GA. Whereas most current Brooklyn bands have a tendency to flirt with the decadent, self-indulgent atmospheres of the East Coast and European bands of the '60s and '70s, the duo's debut full length "Wildlife" is a collection of sunny and eclectic pop songs whose melodies quite unexpectedly flirt with jazz and lounge without sounding like either. The background is a kaleidoscopic accumulation of sounds that could be described as brilliantly organized chaos - a production style we also appreciated on Foxygen's latest record, and that can be traced back to the Beck-Animal Collective "influenceology tree" - but a chaos that works with the upbeat songwriting to create a super-fun party atmosphere. If Sunglasses are able to recreate this atmosphere on a stage, they might have a brilliant career ahead of them. I guess we'll find out tonight at Glasslands, when they'll be celebrating the release of "Wildlife." 


We Can't Enjoy Ourselves play Glasslands 11.27

For a band so steeped in pop music history, this group has moved forward quite a bit over the past two years. Coming from their heavier roots, We Can’t Enjoy Ourselves have mellowed out quite a bit for their latest record ‘Make A Mess of Sacred Ground.’ Now they seem to both enjoying themselves more, while finding themselves even more frustrated by various bastards, Winsome William and the ones you love (their words, not mine).

The band dabbles in the music providing the soundtrack to that jangle house party found in the block between Echo and the Bunnymen and Vampire Weekend. Definitely a good time... and all the more reason to doubt these people are able to enjoy themselves. Check out the new record on their bandcamp, and be sure and make it to the end. Because the closing track, “Devil in the Old Folks Home,” is such a good time you’ll want to play the whole thing again. Check out the band at Glasslands Gallery on November 27th with Tony Castles and Kissing Is A CrimeMike Levine (@Goldnuggets)


Kevin Drumm "Relief"

Kevin Drumm has reemerged with a 29 minute choatic collage of noise called Relief. This is a challenging release that pushes hard against the boundaries of music and sound. It feels like Drumm carefully pulled an excerpt of sound from the endless loop of amassed recordings pulsing through his mind and laptop.

MP3: excerpt from Relief by Kevin Drumm

Relief was released by Editions Mego on November 5th.


Graph Rabbit's therapeutic dream-folk live at Mercury on 11.25

"Less is more" - they say - and Brooklyn's Graph Rabbit have definitely learned that lesson. The band's dream folk is so ethereal and sparse it can almost be mistaken for the random sounds of nature - should we call it ambient-folk then? This is music with supernatural powers: lull yourself to a deep and satisfying sleep with "Only Fields" (streaming below) or stare at your best friend right in the eyes until you can read his/her mind, with "Make it Stop" (video here). Stressed out New Yorkers should go see Graph Rabbits live at The Mercury Lounge on November 25 at 6.30 pm.


Dynasty Electric licences song for Victoria's Secret ad

Congrats to Dynasty Electric - who headlined our Electronic CMJ Stage 2012 this past October - for landing a song placement for "Just Like That" (streaming below) on an upcoming Victoria's Secret commercial. Of all the things your band's music can be used as a soundtrack for, I think (sexy) women's underwear is probably on the top 3 of my personal list (I'm a dude of course). Let's just say top of the list. 


New Music Video: “Jungle” - Freeway

Here’s a new Philly-centric music video from Freeway for his track “Jungle,” which was directed by Jimmy Giambrone. His forthcoming album Diamond In The Ruff is due out November 27 via Babygrande Records, and features contributions from Just Blaze, Jake One, Marsha Ambrosius, Wale and many others.



Which of these local acts should be our next San Francisco Artist of the Month?

[sponsored by]

- news for musician and music industry peeps -